How do I query portal_catalog? (beginner)

Hi I'm a beginner, and I want to do some queries on the portal_catalog (mostly to figure out where the really big files are hiding).

I found this page about querying it: https://docs.plone.org/4/en/develop/plone/searching_and_indexing/query.html

However, I think it's a bit advanced for me. For example, it starts off giving this example code: "portal_catalog = site.portal_catalog"

But I don't even know where I would go to type that in! Yes I am that kinda beginner. Can someone point me in the direction of getting to the place where I can actually type in commands like that?

Also, I went to ZMI, and clicked on "portal_catalog" thinking this might be where I could query it, but I can't figure out what to do once I'm in there. Under the Catalog View, I see a list of all my files, but there is no "file size" column for me to click on to order it ascending or descending. So I don't know if this would be very helpful unless I can write a custom query.

Thanks again and please excuse my newbie-ness.

Welcome dcplebranch! The tutorial that you are following provides help when you are developing with Plone from the filesystem. But there is a quick and dirty way this query can be done in the ZMI, and it does involve writing some Python code, as shown in the tutorial. I'll also note that the code here will be different depending on which version of Plone you are using. Your link is pointing to the Plone 4 docs, so I've tested the following steps in Plone 4.

1. Go to the ZMI (/manage), and in the upper right, choose 'Script (Python)' from the dropdown and click 'Add' if the form doesn't automatically submit.
  2. Name the script whatever id you want, like 'find_files'. Click 'Add and Edit'
  3. Clear out the default code given, and paste this in:
from Products.CMFCore.utils import getToolByName
catalog = getToolByName(context, 'portal_catalog')

files = catalog.searchResults({'portal_type': 'File'})

for file in files: