GSOC'23 aspirant introduction

Hello mentors, I am Vedant Dandge, a software engineering majors student at ACE, Mumbai in India. I'm always eager to learn and implement new technologies and improve existing solutions. I am proficient in the MERN stack, Python, and also have experience working with mobile applications. I am more into frontend development and have worked with MUI and tailwind.

I am interested in contributing to Plone this season.
I'm interested in learning about the next steps for becoming involved.
I need to start with setting up Plone and then Volto, right?

1 Like

Hello, I am Abhishek Tiwari, and I am a web developer and has developed projects that include React, Nextjs and nodejs, I know backed and frontend both and I am eager to work on "User Management " Project, mentor - @ Rob Gietema.
I also took some tutorials and read the documentation of Plone. So please let me know how to get started with my selected project or how I can approach my mentor.
Thnaks

Again, take your time for informing yourself about GSCO 2023 and its process.

It's clearly documented that you do apply through GSOC for a project and not directly.
Also, the application phase starts on March 20th, 2023.
(hint as a mentor: it's not a good impression when an aspirant is badly informed about GSOC :face_with_open_eyes_and_hand_over_mouth:)

1 Like

Thanks, sir, But I know that application will start on 20 March onwards. Still, many organisations and mentors suggest being interactive with the project mentor and trying to understand the code and how the organisation works.
That's why I asked about it.
Ok, I understand that it is only my proposal that will play a major role, and I have to till 20 march.

Already answered in this thread:

Basically, look into the training section, as mentioned.

One more recommendation: please do not engage private communication with possible mentors (like direct emails for example) because:

• it is a bit intrusive,