What is the best way to learn developing addons for plone?

Hi,

I am new to plone and want develop addons . the training materials are bit complicated , is there any ways to master plone development by referring any other addon models or so ,if possible please provide a roadmap :hugs:

You need time, it won't happen over night.

2 Likes

volto is fine, but zope , plone backend and templating language's are bit confusing . I've been working on this for months :sweat_smile:

If there are open issues or open questions, please raise them or ask a bit more specific.

1 Like

sure

Hi Midexe, if you are using Volto you can skip the page templates, that applies to the classic deployments. Your Plone Addons will mostly be focus on functionality like, content types with complicated permissions/validador/invariants/scripts that needs to happen in the server side or a new api endpoint/python script.

Zope is a web interface unless you are dealing with authentication plugins, workflow editing, or export settings you won’t be using it in development much now a days. It is very similar to a file system.

Plone/Zope is like a roll-a-coaster it has a steep learning curve at the beginning but is all fun and joy after the first drop.

2 Likes

I trained lots of teams and people over the past years and moving from Plone Classic to Volto was a booster for our productivity and the onboarding process. If you go with Plone 6 (Volto) you just have to learn standard web technologies (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React) and how to work with the Plone REST API. This drastically reduces the amount of software that a developer needs to understand and master. At kitconcept we can train people from zero (knowledge of web technologies) to being able to create a full Volto project (without any assistance) in six months. This would have never been possible with the old stack.

I'd strongly suggest skipping Plone Classic, page templates, etc., and starting with Volto and Plone 6.