Quick Experiment: Plone 5.2 on Google Cloudrun

I started playing with Cloudrun yesterday (for another project)
So I decided it would be interesting to see if Plone could be deployed "serverlessly"

It works :tada:
Just a proof of concept but here it is:

feel free to improve on this.

[update: I've made this use RelStorage for persistence (suggested by @jensens in a note below) ]

3 Likes

Idea: Use Google Cloud-SQL with PostgreSQL as storage backend (with RelStorage 3 no additional blobstorage is needed).

Thanks @jensens .... RelStorage is still a thing? I haven't touched it since 2014!

My biggest concern is whether everything works with Plone 5.2/Python 3/Zope 4.

For example, can I use the rel-storage entry in plone.recipe.zope2instance

Will have to check and report back here.

That was quick... according to pypi the 6.8.0 release of plone.recipe.zope2instance targets "Plone 5.2, ZODB 5, Zope 4, and Python 2.7, 3.6 or 3.7".

So as long as the Relstorage thing works we're good.

Well, I use nothing else. since years. And with RelStorage 3 I have no idea why one ever want to use ZEO (or worse, ZRS), but that's my experience and opinion.

Okay... I was able to get this working with Google Cloud Run and a free database from ElephantSQL. I expect it to work the same with CloudSQL.
I've updated the info at https://github.com/collective/plone-on-cloudrun

My only issue is that it can take 45 seconds to respond to the first hit. After that it's fine.

Here's a link to my first Cloud run deployed Plone (backed by RelStorage):

(the instance includes the name volto because my medium term vision is to get this to work as an API server to a volto client deployed on firebase)

Just tried to upload an image and got this error:

Traceback (innermost last):
  Module ZPublisher.WSGIPublisher, line 168, in transaction_pubevents
  Module transaction._manager, line 257, in commit
  Module transaction._manager, line 135, in commit