Override JavaScript Resource (eea.facetednavigation)

Hello everybody,

I am a new Plone developer and would like to customize the eea.facetednavigation for my product. In fact, we must set default search values ​​for text widgets in faceted view (not on the @@ faceted_configure page). I thought we need to add a set_default method to Faceted.TextWidget.prototype in the faceted-widgets-text-view resource (same as https://github.com/collective/eea.facetednavigation/blob/master/eea/facetednavigation/widgets/text/edit.js). Unfortunately, I do not know how to override Javascript resources in Plone, or whether there is a better way to set the default values ​​from faceted view without invoking the configuration page. Can someone help me please?

Welcome @brendaav! Ugh, you’ve embarked on what I fear is a quite complex task for a new developer.

Here is a good starting point, with the JS training class materials https://training.plone.org/5/javascript/index.html

There are many mentions of JS throughout our docs too, though I don’t have a suggestion for a particular starting point there: https://docs.plone.org/search.html?q=Javascript

I’m not familiar with the innards of eea.facetednavigation, but perhaps @avoinea could help

1 Like

hi @brendaav

these resources are registered as browser-resources. browser resources are references to files which are registered under an id and can physically be anywhere on the filesystem, where the python package can reach it. and you can override them.

note: in plone 5 we normally use plone.resource based resources, because they can even be stored in the ZODB, which browser-resources can't. but that's only a side note - eea.facettednavigation seems to only use browser-resources also for plone 5 - which is fine.

this is how the browser resource in question is defined:

you can override this definition in your package by using a browser layer:

<browser:resource
  name="eea.facetednavigation.widgets.text.edit.js"