Monorepo for plone/volto addons?

I am not an expert on monorepo, but I was thinking if this was or not a model to adopt for some Plone addons.

I was thinking where we currently have two repos: one with JS code for Volto and a second with python code for Plone, but both need to coexist to solve a common use case (e.g. GitHub - collective/volto-form-block: Volto addon for a customizable form block and GitHub - collective/collective.volto.formsupport: Enable support for customizable forms in Volto).

Thoughts?

Mauro.

I was also thinking it would be nice to have both the Python and Node packages for an addon in one repository, but I didn't find time to try it yet. @ericof I forget, did you experiment with this already?

Both of a combo, backend and frontend add-on, living in one repo is appealing.

A straight forward way is granting each one a src directory (I did it with 'src' for the Python code, 'voltosrc' for the Volto code)
As a 'src' directory is expected also for a Node package, this unusualness can be treated with an amendment in package.json entry like

"main": "voltosrc/index.js",

I remember that I needed to add a custom i18n.js to the add-on to collect the translatables, which is only customized with the path of the Volto code living in voltosrc.

I would call the directories backend and frontend, for similarity with how we structure Volto projects. And keep each one structured the same way that it would be if it was a standalone package. package.json can go inside frontend, so it doesn't need any special "main" entry.

But, this is just speculation, and I haven't tried it to see what challenges remain.

1 Like

Enforcing a monorepo structure at addon level makes it more difficult to integrate it into other projects. Not impossible, but difficult.