Installing Plone for Windows

Hey everyone. I'm currently a college student trying to use Plone to build an intranet style website. I was able to download and use Plone once before, but after switching to a new device I haven't been able to install it again. I have a windows machine and I've tried piecing all of the information together, but haven't found a way to install Plone into my device. I have tried the Unified Installer but I couldn't find a direct set of instructions to downloading Plone so I was hoping that someone could help me out. I've tried to install it for about 3 weeks and haven't been able to get it to work. Thank you!

Hello @fpera

I don't know if your request is still valid.
If you still haven't managed to install Plone on Windows, use @steve's advice here:

Installers-UnifiedInstaller/windows.rst at master · plone/Installers-UnifiedInstaller · GitHub.
Be careful with the default python 38 installation directory from Microsoft Store though due to permissions issues.
The installation in the default directory works fine.

However, I failed to install plone 5.2.4 in a directory of my choice.

Good luck.

What version of Windows are you running.? If Windows10, what build number?

I just completed Plone 5.0.8 on a windows10 pc, but I used windows subsystem for linux and Ubuntu 18.04 to get Plone running....

Hello @ andplo9920
In my opinion, the installation should be able to be done on any Windows 10 as long as it is up to date with features and security updates.
On a PC I have Windows 10 build 19041.985
On another I have Windows 10 build 19042.985.
I was able to install plone 5.2.4 on both in the default directory.

Again when I try to install in a directory of my choice, for example on another partition, the installation fails.

Do you have a specific reason to install plone 5.0.8, then a lot of later versions install fine on Windows 10?

Plone on Ubuntu, i feel, is anywhere from 2 to 3 times faster than Plone in Windows, thats all....