Installed an addon. Or didn't I?

Hello,

I'm new to Plone, just evaluating for a project.

I have installed v5.2 on Windows WSL and followed the addon installation tutorial without a problem (installing collective.easyform).

When I tried to install another one (plone.app.content) nothing happened, meaning that I didn't see the buildout pulling any files like it did with easyform. Also, in the administration of Plone, the addon was not installed (restarted Plone of course).

What am I missing?

thanks

Hello!

The package plone.app.content is already part of the default Plone installation, and not visible on the Control Panel.

cheers,
ea

Hello ericof,

Thanks! I was trying to find what other views are available for Plone. My goal is to have a view where someone can read the content of a page and immediately under to see a carousel of downloadable files. Any directions welcome!
cheers
jim

Seems to me that is a very specific requirement which you would solve in your own custom Diazo theme package. As a comparison: PNZ: Manufaktur, Downloads — Deutsch - not a carousel, but that would be a relatively simple modification (we use that in the dropdown menu): the grid consists of an album_view of a collection.

and in plain vanilla Barceloneta it would look like this:

1 Like

I see that in this example you bring the data from a collection. I am looking to create a view of a page with its child folder of downloads if any. I get your point and somehow you have categories of files too (which is what I want to do too). Did you develop this? Was it hard?

Start with the album_view of a folder which contains images. The custom part in our implementation is that for pdf documents and such, the file content type generates a thumbnail when the content is added.