Help me with custom view for dexterity object?

Hi all, I'm new to Plone, Python, and everything involved in my setup except Apache... but I figured I could handle this. I think I'm most of the way there and it's just a matter of dependencies, but I could be wrong.

My Plone site has been up and running for a couple weeks, and I've broken and fixed it a number of times, including today. My goal is to fuse the tutorial, and the code for the stock News Item viewer, to get a blogroll view usable as a folder display. My custom Dexterity object has an extra tab containing a rich text field; this field contains a given item's "list view" for blogroll purposes, a shaped headline/lede/image combo I plan to wrap additional stuff around in the view I'm developing.

I used bob to create a Dexterity project, src/nhus.blog.post.

I made what I believed were appropriate modifications to the tutorial, merging the code from the tutorial and News Item view.

The tutorial said I was done, so I included the egg under both eggs and develop.

I ran buildout, and restarted the Zope cluster and Apache.

The site was down.

So, I pored over the tutorial again and noticed I hadn't installed z3c.jbot. I did so, and then installed its unmet dependencies, notably zope.untrustedpython and zserver.base... which dragged in a lot of other zope.* packages. Perhaps also notably, it was a mix of 2.x and 4.x versions (maybe a 3.x in as well).

I reran buildout and it puked a stack trace at me, complaining about something something missing security module _base something.

My site was down and google wasn't availing any clues. I started uninstalling packages. I expected, once I uninstalled all the zope.* packages, my site would be well and truly f---ed, but it's back up and running now.

What did I do wrong?

hi! welcome to Plone! :slight_smile:

let me ask you a question before we begin… what do you want, learn how to develop for Plone or just use it to solve some use case?