Having trouble wrapping my head around Dexterity (and the docs are not helping!)

I’m a Plone newbie, I’ve attacked the problem of learning Plone several times over the last few years with no real success. In my latest attempt, I’ve theorized that content types are the most central concept to plone, therefore I’ve chosen to go through the dexterity documentation (Dexterity Developer Manuall). I've been at it for a few days now, I’m recreating the tutorial example on a virtual machine, albeit with very great difficulty, because the docs clearly describe an earlier incarnation of plone 4, if indeed it was written around plone 4 at all! Up until this point I’ve been getting help in IRC translating the steps from the (outdated) zopeskel examples the tutorial presents into a bobtemplates driven set of steps.
My latest challenge is this: I’ve reached The FTI, but the xml content type file which the docs present is very different to the one that I got bobtemplates to generate. In the IRC I was told to copy and paste and modify my bobtemplates generated file for the other types I want to make up in this package, but the API has clearly changed between the time the docs were written and now. I prefer to be intentional in my efforts, so I don’t want to just blindly cut-and-paste code from an older version of the API (presented in the docs) into my test plone site. I need someone to explain to me what the directives in the XML file for the type mean.

P.S. The documentation needs some work. I would be happy to chip in and help re-write them so they reflect the way Plone works today. Obviously though, I would need to gain an understanding of the subject matter before I would be able to expound upon it.

2 Likes

The training documentation at https://training.plone.org/ is more up to date and may be helpful for you.

What are you trying to do? To be honest in only 10% of the sites we customise do we need new content types so I'm not sure it's the most central concept.