[GSoC] Eugene Nikandroff

Hello! My name is Eugene Nikandrov and in this post I would like to present myself.
I am currently a student at HSE university in Moscow, Russia.

Although, I spend most of my time learning about development and creating applications (mostly web). I interned at Intel for 8 months and then at Microsoft for 6 months. I also cofounded a startup project as a full stack web developer.

I am interested in Plone for two main reasons: being able to help and to get valuable experience. As Plone CMS is actively used by lots of people, I would love to work on something what would actually improve experience of many real users. In my case, as I am excited about front-end and UI/UX development, I can imagine saving users time, as they launch their Plone applications, and easing the process of getting new websites up and running. Personally, I could also learn a great deal about developing process in a larger scale applications and in a professional team.

I decided that it would be better to introduce myself after I have some progress. So, I am glad to tell that I have successfully installed and launched Plone. Moreover, I created a dedicated server with Plone at nikandroff.com I think that could be a convenient and easy way for me to discuss and iterate on my projects in Plone by updating it on my website. This would allow my mentors and other Plone members easily see and evaluate my changes in action.

Also, as suggested by Cris Ewing, I found a couple of issues on GitHub and tried to fix them. While trying to fix these simple issues, I think I quickly got a much better understanding of Plone structure. Although, I think I know how to solve the two issues I took a look at, there are some questions that I have. I explained proposed solutions and my questions about the issues in the issue comment section on GitHub. You can take a look at them here and here.