Basic Question: Zope vs Plone as an Database Application Development Platform

I am new to Python, Zope and Plone, and could benefit from the insights of someone in the Zope community who is familiar with Zope 2. My organization has a moderately complex management record keeping system built using an Oracle database (over 100 tables) and Zope 2.x. The application is liked by the user community, and has been enhanced by a variety of developers over the years. At some point we want to transition the UI to a more modern platform, and possibly even merge this application with another Oracle web-based app. As I understand it, theoriticaly, there is an upgrade path from Zope 2 apps to Zope 4 and from Zope 4 to Zope 5. As someone with little familiarity with Zope and Plone, I am a bit confused. It seems that Plone, fundamentally, is a content management system that runs on Zope. As I understand it, Plone also has some tooling/support for developing simple web front ends to manage data in relational database systems. I am struggling to understand if Zope 4 or Zope 5 are robust frameworks for developing moderately complex web-based database records management systems and whether or not Plone is also a viable option for this type of work. So for those of you familiar with Zope 2, 4, and 5 and Plone, I have two basic questions:

1. Is there a relatively easy upgrade path for a Zope 2 application to Zope 4 and/or Zope 5 or did the framework change so much over these releases that an upgrade is not worth the effort? 2) Is Plone a well suited for building web-based, relational database records management systems? And if so, why would you use Plone over Zope? I look forward to learning what some of those with some experience with Zope and Plone have to say on these topics.

Ask yourself: what functionality do you need from Plone/Zope? The ZODB? The security management?