Google Summer of Code student introduction

Hello Plone developers

My name is Victor and I'm from Almería (Spain). This is my 4th year and last year of the Computer Engineering Degree here (they last 4 year) and although the main language in my degree is Java I'm a huge fan of Python. This is also my first year in the GSoC program and for the reasons mentioned above I want to collaborate with some project related to python, in this case Plone can be a great place!

I've been developing python since Dec 14' aprox and Django since March 15'. It has been mainly for pet projects, university projects and other stuff. I have participate in numerous courses in Udacity and other online platforms to improve my python and django skills. I have read some it books also. I'm working part-time as a Laravel developer right now and I use python for deploy scripts and some administration task automation. I'm giving a talk about 'Introduction to Python' in the university to help other classmates introduce to the language.

I'll list my 'skills' here, most of then are basic but I hope they can help you understand my background.

• Python
  • HTML5, CSS, Bootstrap, jQuery, JS (not a big fan of JS) giving a try to ReactJS (minimal)
  • Python unittest, Selenium
  • Django, Flask and SQLalchemy (a little)
  • Git, Subversion
  • Redmine, Slack
  • Jenkins
  • Ubuntu server, apache, nginx, mySQL,

My common development environment is Linux Mint, Atom and the terminal! I'm trying to introduce Vagrant to my stack lately.

If you have taken the time to read this post, thank you very much. I would really appreciate if anyone could give me some advice about what project of Plone fits my background knowledge the best and help build a great application for it.

Thank you in advance!
Victor

1 Like