Editing Frustration

I'm brand new to Plone, Zope, Python, and am trying to edit content in the "head" section of the site. Since the site is an intranet I'm unable to provide direct access to the site however, you can click the following link to see an image of what I'm asking.

The site is using Plone 4.3.1 (4306)

It looks like a custom viewlet, its perhaps hardcoded in the a filesystem template or a js-lib? It's not a standard html-snippet in Plone 4.

Start to understand adding /@@manage-viewlets on the site address. Often you can find some related templates in plone control panel -> ZMI -> portal_view_customizations

I would try to get what is the addon involved (plone control panel -> Add-ons) and read the docs, maybe there's a control panel to manage it and maybe some hint on css/javascript customization.

From site -> control panel -> theming -> modify theme -> shows a file manager, with a file tree on the left and an editor on the right. Clicking the index.html allows me to see the href reference I need to change, and change it. When I save the file, the changed href doesn't show on my live site.

Show Inspectors allows me to see my changed index.html correctly from the HTML mockup window and I can see the changes when Preview Theme, yet still can't see the change on the live site.

You were correct. It is hardcoded in the filesystem template, yet when I make changes to the index.html template, the changes don't show on my live site when I save the edited file.

Any ideas?

I think you are attempting to make changes in the wrong place. The index.html file you describe is a visual theme template for which the elements are dynamically replaced with content from your Plone site. Changing a link there would have no effect unless the link is static and remains untouched by your content.