Degrading upload performance using JSON API

Hi,

We're currently in the process using Plone as a document management system and we're currently migrating 160GB of files to plone through the JSON api. The structure is quite simple
/docs/customers//.
/docs/complaints/.

I've built a python script to do the upload but I started noticing that the webservice starts to slows down dramatically after a certain gigabytes. It's currently allocated:

It's on a RHEL7 with 62GB of ram and Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 v3 @ 2.30GHz which is a VS instance in a VMware stack.

I'm a newbie with ZODB but I suspect this is the place I should start looking.

Any advice is appreciated and I have read the Performance documentation but I don't think it's leading me to a solution using that.

Thank you.

That's unexpected. Does it slow down permanently (restart has no effect)? Do you use the default types (with blob tile fields)? What kind of indexing do you do for the files?

Also how many documents that makes for a single folder. Folders themselves are btree based and should scale, but there may be something else (possibly even in the rest api), which slows down with many objects in a single folder.

Hi Asko,

We've tried the good ol restart of the service and unfortunately no luck. We've also tried packing the database and it's the same result. I don't think we've got any indexing on this one since the 'Architect' just simply did a vanilla install.
Would indexing be a good starting point?

As for the folders.
the root /docs and /complaints have roughtly about 86605 sub folders. Each subfolders have one or two child folders then each child folders would have a file attached.

e.g.

/docs/customer/123456
                |----- file.pdf
                |----- file.pdf
 /complaints/SR-123456/
               |--- some-hashed-folder-name-from-MSCRM/hashed-file-name-1.filetype/hashed-file-name-1.filetype